Icon representing download Download the full pdf Icon representing download Download this chapter Contact us

Board of Directors

The main tasks of the Board of Directors are to determine the Group’s strategy and general policy, and to monitor Bekaert’s operations. The Board of Directors is the company’s prime decision-making body with the exception of matters reserved by law or by the articles of association to the General Meeting of Shareholders. The Board of Directors currently consists of thirteen members. Their professional profiles cover different areas of expertise, such as law, business, industrial operations, finance & investment banking, HR and consultancy.

Composition of the Board of Directors

  • Jürgen Tinggren, Chairman (1)
  • Oswald Schmid, CEO 
  • Gregory Dalle
  • Henriette Fenger Ellekrog (1)
  • Charles de Liedekerke
  • Christophe Jacobs van Merlen 
  • Hubert Jacobs van Merlen
  • Colin Smith (1)
  • Eriikka Söderström (1)
  • Caroline Storme
  • Emilie van de Walle de Ghelcke 
  • Henri Jean Velge 
  • Mei Ye (1)

(1) Independent Directors

The biographies of all members of the Board of Directors are available on the Bekaert website

Changes during 2020

Oswald Schmid, Chief Operations Officer, succeeded Matthew Taylor as interim CEO when Matthew Taylor retired from his position as CEO and Director of Bekaert on 12 May 2020. On 13 May 2020, the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders confirmed the mandate of Oswald Schmid as Director. 

The Annual General Meeting of Shareholders further approved the nominations of Henriette Fenger Ellekrog and Eriikka Söderström as independent Directors, replacing Celia Baxter and Pamela Knapp who did not seek re-appointment. Christophe Jacobs van Merlen, Emilie van de Walle de Ghelcke and Henri Jean Velge were re-elected as Director. 

Changes in 2021

The Board of Directors of Bekaert has appointed Oswald Schmid as Chief Executive Officer, effective as of 2 March 2021.